visit trackers code
  1. Home
  2. Government
  3. The longest length of US president term

The longest length of US president term


In the United States, the president of the United States is elected through the United States Electoral College to a four-year term, with a term limit of two terms (totals in eight years) or a maximum length of ten years and only if the president acted as president for two years or less in a term where another was elected as president. This is imposed by the Twenty-second Amendment to the United States Constitution in 1951.

Two-Term Limit on Presidency

Passed by Congress March 21, 1947. Ratified February 27, 1951. No person shall be elected to the office of the President more than twice, and no person who has held the office of President, or acted as President, for more than two years of a term to which some other person was elected President shall be elected to the office of President more than once. But this Article shall not apply to any person holding the office of President when this Article was proposed by Congress, and shall not prevent any person who may be holding the office of President, or acting as President, during the term within which this Article becomes operative from holding the office of President or acting as President during the remainder of such term.

The longest term of the president in the US as of 2021

The following table reflects the longest terms that the presidents of the United States have served through the history.

President Term Began Days in office
Franklin Roosevelt 3.04.1933 4,423
Thomas Jefferson 3.04.1801 2,922
James Madison 3.04.1809 2,922
James Monroe 3.04.1817 2,922
Andew Jackson 3.04.1829 2,922
Ulysses S. Grant 3.04.1869 2,922
Woodrow Wilson 3.04.1913 2,922
Dwight Eisenhower 1.20.1953 2,922
Ronald Reagan 1.20.1981 2,922
Bill Clinton 1.20.1993 2,922
George W. Bush 1.20.2001 2,922
Barack Obama 1.20.2009 2,922

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles